School Choice

School Choice

Under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act of 2015, students in kindergarten (K) through grade twelve (12) who reside in other districts may be eligible to attend school in the Conway County School District (SCCSD).  School Choice applications must be submitted to the nonresident district by no later than May 1 of the year in which the student seeks to begin the fall semester.  Upon receipt of the application, the nonresident district notifies the resident district of the filing of the application.  By July 1, the nonresident district superintendent notifies the parent/guardian and the resident district in writing as to whether the student’s application has been accepted or rejected.

Except as otherwise required or permitted by law, the responsibility for transportation of any nonresident student admitted to a school in the South Conway Country School District must be borne by the student or the student’s parents.

The Public School Choice application deadline for consideration to begin the fall semester is May 1.  

Click HERE for the Public School Choice application.*

  1. Complete the Public School Choice application.

  2. Drop off in person or mail the application to the SCCSD Administrative Offices (100 Baramore Street, Morrilton, AR 72110).

  3. Applications must be received or postmarked by May 1 of the year in which the student seeks to begin the fall semester.

  4. By July 1, SCCSD will contact you and the district where you live, indicating whether your application has been accepted.

*Please note:  A transfer student who continues enrollment in the nonresident district under School Choice may complete all remaining school years at the nonresident district.  It is not necessary to reapply for School Choice as long as the transfer student has had no break in attendance. However, if a transfer student returns to his/her resident district, the student's transfer is voided, and the student must reapply if he/she seeks a future school choice transfer.  

Arkansas Department of Education

For more information, contact the South Conwy County Schools Administrative Offices at 501-354-9400.